If you want to become either a vegetarian or Vegan, you should know what the difference is.
What is the difference between a Vegan and a Vegetarian? Both Vegetarian and Vegan as we know them in the modern context are people who eat mainly Vegetables and Fruit.
According to the Vegetarian Society, “a Vegetarian does not eat meat, fish, chicken. Products or by-products of slaughter and Foods made from processing aids from slaughter.” vegsoc.org
The Vegetarian Diet can include: Vegetables, Fruits, Grains, Pulses, Eggs, Seeds, Dairy Products, Honey and Nuts
- Lacto-Vegetarians avoid all animal and egg products but do consume milk and dairy products.
- Ovo-vegetarians avoid animal and dairy products but consume eggs.
- Lacto-Ovo-vegetarians avoid meat but consume both eggs and dairy.
- Pescatarians eat no land animal meat, or chicken, but do consume fish.
- Flexitarians are part-time vegetarians. They eat meat occasionally.
The pescatarians and the flexitarians do not really fall under the vegetarian guidelines.
For further information on such things as how to go vegetarian, Nutrition for Vegetarians, and the “Eat Well Guide for Vegetarians”, go to the vegsoc.org website.
The Vegan Diet is based on the vegetarian diet but does not include Eggs, Dairy or Honey.
Vegan is often a lifestyle choice where they do not use any product from animals including leather, Furs or feathers.
The Vegan diet has a few problems as it is more difficult to obtain all of the nutrients required for a healthy diet. Some of these nutrients include Calcium and Collagen which are both essential for strong healthy bones. The lack of collagen and calcium can lead to Vegans having more bone fractures according to the
ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed. One of the main problems I found in doing my research was that B12 is only obtained through animal meat and products such as eggs and dairy. A Lack of B12 can lead to cardiovascular health problems in Vegetarian diets. However, no study has been done on B12 and the Vegan diet. ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25195560 However, Nutritional Yeast contains many of the B Vitamins especially if you buy the fortified varieties. These B Vitamins in the fortified varieties include B12. healthline.com/nutrition/nutritional-yeast
An excellent site to obtain information on the Nutritional requirements and how to meet them in the Vegan Diet is veganhealth.org/
For further information about Vegan Diet and Life choices visit The Vegan Society at vegansociety.com
For information on vegan-vegetarian diets in pregnancy go to www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25600902